Why Zebras Don T Get Ulcers Third Edition

Total Download : 2844 | Total Read : 5904 | Total Likes: 7249

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date : 2004-08-26
Publisher by : Holt Paperbacks


Description :

Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with over 225,000 copies in print

Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress.
As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick.
Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.

Why Zebras Don T Get Ulcers An Updated Guide To Stress Stress Related Diseases And Coping 2nd Edition

Total Download : 3235 | Total Read : 9164 | Total Likes: 2954

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : W. H. Freeman


Description :

Combining cutting edge research with a healthy dose of humor and practical advice, Sapolsky explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies mental afflictions.

Why Zebras Dont Get Ulcers A Guide To Stress Stress Related Diseases And Coping

Total Download : 1777 | Total Read : 3247 | Total Likes: 6146

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : W H Freeman & Co


Description : When people burdened with stress start to feel bad physically, it is not just in their minds. Emotional crises bring on specific physical changes in the body. If those stress responses are prolonged or set in motion too often, the resulting wear and tear can lead to digestive and sleeping problems, heart disease, cerebrovascular diseases, reproductive disorders and other illnesses. "Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers" is Robert Sapolsky's look at the interconnections between emotion and physical well-being. Drawing on the latest research, Sapolsky describes the physical toll associated with emotional turmoil. He also discusses some proven effective ways of learning to moderate the body's responses to stress. This book's balance of biology and psychology, and research-supported suggestions for coping, should make it a helpful guidebook for people worried about worrying themselves sick.

Why Zebras Don T Get Ulcers The Acclaimed Guide To Stress Stress Related Diseases And Coping 3rd Edition

Total Download : 2930 | Total Read : 1983 | Total Likes: 3253

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date : 2004-08-26
Publisher by : Holt Paperbacks


Description :

Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with nearly 90,000 copies in print

Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress.
As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick.
Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.

A Primate S Memoir A Neuroscientist S Unconventional Life Among The Baboons

Total Download : 9424 | Total Read : 7082 | Total Likes: 9886

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date : 2002-03-12
Publisher by : Scribner


Description : In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

“I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.

Why Zebras Don T Get Ulcers

Total Download : 3697 | Total Read : 4754 | Total Likes: 2664

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : Tantor Audio


Description : Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress.As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick.Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.

Why Zebras Don T Get Ulcers By Sapolsky Robert M 2004 Paperback

Total Download : 7056 | Total Read : 1037 | Total Likes: 1710

Author by :
Languange Used :
Release Date :
Publisher by : St Martin's Press


Description :

The Trouble With Testosterone And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predicament

Total Download : 1401 | Total Read : 3639 | Total Likes: 8456

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date : 1998-04-24
Publisher by : Scribner


Description : Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize

From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior.

In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. “Curious George’s Pharmacy” reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. “Junk Food Monkeys” relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And “Circling the Blanket for God” examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief.

Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world’s inhabitants with skill and flair.

Monkeyluv And Other Essays On Our Lives As Animals

Total Download : 8063 | Total Read : 7098 | Total Likes: 4318

Author by : Robert M. Sapolsky
Languange Used : English
Release Date : 2006-10-10
Publisher by : Scribner


Description : How do imperceptibly small differences in the environment change one's behavior? What is the anatomy of a bad mood? Does stress shrink our brains? What does People magazine's list of America's "50 Most Beautiful People" teach us about nature and nurture? What makes one organism sexy to another? What makes one orgasm different from another? Who will be the winner in the genetic war between the sexes?

Welcome to Monkeyluv, a curious and entertaining collection of essays about the human animal in all its fascinating variety, from Robert M. Sapolsky, America's most beloved neurobiologist/primatologist. Organized into three sections, each tackling a Big Question in natural science, Monkeyluv offers a lively exploration of the influence of genes and the environment on behavior; the social and political -- and, of course, sexual -- implications of behavioral biology; and society's shaping of the individual. From the mating rituals of prairie dogs to the practice of religion in the rain forest, the secretion of pheromones to bugs in the brain, Sapolsky brilliantly synthesizes cutting-edge scientific research with wry, erudite observations about the enormous complexity of simply being human. Thoughtful, engaging, and infused with pop-cultural insights, this collection will appeal to the inner monkey in all of us.

Why Zebras Don T Get Ulcers Guide To Stress Stress Related Disease And Coping By Robert M Sapolsky 1995 03 01

Total Download : 4481 | Total Read : 1636 | Total Likes: 3228

Author by :
Languange Used :
Release Date :
Publisher by : W.H.Freeman & Co Ltd; New edition edition (1995-03-01)


Description :