Erewhon And Erewhon Revisited Dover Thrift Editions

Total Download : 7561 | Total Read : 6736 | Total Likes: 9019

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : Dover Publications

Description : In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novel Erewhon won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. SamuelButler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creating Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited, which are widely recognized as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind.
Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of Erewhon's writing the author needed "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends.

Erewhon

Total Download : 9603 | Total Read : 6352 | Total Likes: 5610

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Description : Butler belonged to no school, and spawned no followers during his lifetime. A serious but amateur student of the subjects he undertook, especially religious orthodoxy and evolutionary thought, his controversial assertions effectively shut him out from both of the opposing factions of Church and science which played such a large role in late Victorian cultural life: “In those days one was either a religionist or a Darwinian, but he was neither.” His influence on literature, such as it was, came through The Way of All Flesh, which Butler completed in the 1880s but left unpublished in order to protect his family. And yet the novel, “begun in 1870 and not touched after 1885, was so modern when it was published in 1903, that it may be said to have started a new school,” particularly in the use of psychoanalytical modes of thought in fiction, which "his treatment of Ernest Pontifex [the hero of Butler's novel] foreshadows."

Erewhon By Samuel Butler Illustrated

Total Download : 9191 | Total Read : 7404 | Total Likes: 4201

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : Independently published

Description :

How is this book unique?

  1. Font adjustments & biography included
  2. Unabridged (100% Original content)
  3. Illustrated

About Erewhon by Samuel Butler

Erewhon is a novel by Samuel Butler which was first published anonymously in 1872. The title is also the name of a country, supposedly discovered by the protagonist. In the novel, it is not revealed where Erewhon is, but it is clear that it is a fictional country. Butler meant the title to be read as "nowhere" backwards even though the letters "h" and "w" are transposed, as it would have been pronounced in his day (and still is in some dialects of English). The book is a satire on Victorian society.The first few chapters of the novel dealing with the discovery of Erewhon are in fact based on Butler's own experiences in New Zealand where, as a young man, he worked as a sheep farmer on Mesopotamia Station for about four years (1860–64), and explored parts of the interior of the South Island and which he wrote about in his A First Year in Canterbury Settlement (1863).The greater part of the book consists of a description of Erewhon. The nature of this nation is intended to be ambiguous. At first glance, Erewhon appears to be a Utopia, yet it soon becomes clear that this is far from the case. Yet for all the failings of Erewhon, it is also clearly not a dystopia, such as that depicted in George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four. As a satirical utopia, Erewhon has sometimes been compared to Gulliver's Travels (1726), a classic novel by Jonathan Swift; the image of Utopia in this latter case also bears strong parallels with the self-view of the British Empire at the time. It can also be compared to the William Morris novel, News from Nowhere. Erewhon satirises various aspects of Victorian society, including criminal punishment, religion and anthropocentrism. For example, according to Erewhonian law, offenders are treated as if they were ill, whereas ill people are looked upon as criminals. Another feature of Erewhon is the absence of machine

Erewhon Famous Editions Easton Press

Total Download : 3852 | Total Read : 9641 | Total Likes: 8282

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : The Easton Press

Description : Erewhon (an anagram for "nowhere") is a faraway land where sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned (for fear they'll evolve and become the masters of man). Butler's entertaining and thought-provoking Utopian novel takes aim at such hallowed institutions as family, church, and mechanical progress; its remarkable prescience in anticipating future sociological trends adds a special relevance for today's readers.

Erewhon

Total Download : 6813 | Total Read : 6730 | Total Likes: 3827

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : Signet Classic

Description : The book this grade is generally well kept and is in good shape to read and store. Sturdy spine, all pages intact physically. Solid cover. Might have acceptable shelve wear. Might have very limited notes.

Erewhon Revisited

Total Download : 6833 | Total Read : 3790 | Total Likes: 9727

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : SMK Books

Description : Erewhon, set in a thinly disguised New Zealand, ended with the escape of its protagonist from the native Erewhonians by balloon. In the sequel, narrated by his son John. Higgs returns to Erewhon and meets his former lover Yram, who is now the mother of his son George. He discovers that he is now worshipped as "the Sunchild". He finds himself in danger from the villainous Professors Hanky and Panky, who are determined to protect Sunchildism from him. With George's help Higgs escapes from their clutches and returns to England.

Erewhon And Erewhon Revisited Both Novels Complete In This Volume Modern Library 136 2

Total Download : 7552 | Total Read : 9696 | Total Likes: 6111

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date :
Publisher by : Modern Library

Description :

The Way Of All Flesh Dover Thrift Editions

Total Download : 5690 | Total Read : 3610 | Total Likes: 3192

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used : English
Release Date : 2004-08-11
Publisher by : Dover Publications

Description :

Written between 1873 and 1884 and published posthumously in 1903, The Way of All Flesh is regarded by some as the first twentieth-century novel. Samuel Butler's autobiographical account of a harsh upbringing and troubled adulthood shines an iconoclastic light on the hypocrisy of a Victorian clerical family's domestic life. It also foreshadows the crumbling of nineteenth-century bourgeois ideals in the aftermath of the First World War, as well as the ways in which succeeding generations have questioned conventional values.
Hailed by George Bernard Shaw as "one of the summits of human achievement," this chronicle of the life and loves of Ernest Pontifex spans four generations, focusing chiefly on the relationship between Ernest and his father, Theobald. Written in the wake of Darwin's Origin of Species, it reflects the dawning consciousness of heredity and environment as determinants of character. Along the way, it offers a powerfully satirical indictment of Victorian England's major institutions—the family, the church, and the rigidly hierarchical class structure.

Erewhon

Total Download : 3902 | Total Read : 8810 | Total Likes: 7353

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used :
Release Date :
Publisher by : The Easton Press

Description : Erewhon (an anagram for "nowhere") is a faraway land where sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned (for fear they'll evolve and become the masters of man). Butler's entertaining and thought-provoking Utopian novel takes aim at such hallowed institutions as family, church, and mechanical progress; its remarkable prescience in anticipating future sociological trends adds a special relevance for today's readers.

Erewhon Dover Thrift Editions By Samuel Butler 2002 05 29

Total Download : 1339 | Total Read : 1797 | Total Likes: 8221

Author by : Samuel Butler
Languange Used :
Release Date :
Publisher by : Dover Publications

Description :